Trailblazers

Taylor Rocca, Copy/Web Editor Ω

In a society full of expectations and standardized norms, it has become increasingly easy, sometimes encouraged, for young adults to give up their dreams in exchange for a safe, sound and stable lifestyle.

Whether it is the run-of-the-mill job that pays the bills or nestling into your career after finishing up your university education to find it isn’t at all what you expected, I would venture to say that the percentage of people who enjoy their careers is severely out-weighed by the percentage of those who don’t particularly enjoy their respective lines of work.

I understand that being responsible and taking care of your bottom line is an important thing when transitioning into adulthood. But can’t we chase our dreams while keeping that bottom line in mind?

I am here to tell you it is possible. It might take some hard work, a little bit of spit-shine and you might suffer the odd cut or bruise along the way (be those to your body or your ego), but if you want it bad enough, no one can stop you from achieving your ultimate dream.

I came out of my last degree planning on falling into the grit and grind of the assembly-line workforce that many other students get shuffled into once they receive their bachelor degree. Now, I don’t mean a literal assembly line, rather a metaphorical one where a job is just that — a job and nothing more.

No incentive.

No reward.

No challenge.

Nothing but monotonous and boring work that has little to no impact on the world around us.

Don’t get me wrong. For those who are satisfied falling into that line of work, I am not here to judge you. I respect you for your decision and understand that sometimes, these decisions are not within our control. Life can certainly throw curveballs that force people to change their strategy and approach to the game.

With that being said, I finally stood up for my own dreams and said, “To hell with this. I’m going chasing and I will do what it takes to make this happen.”

That decision brought me to TRU and eventually sent me on to my dream internship in Toronto, Ont. this past summer. It has allowed me to continue freelancing for a magazine I grew up reading as a child, only ever fantasizing about one day seeing my own name on a byline within its pages.

It might not seem like much, but for me, it is just step one in a long line of stones that I am ready to start making my way across.

I often hear this sort of sentiment from people I run into and it has really started to bother me.

“Well, it’s too late for me to take a shot at that. I gave up that dream a long time ago.”

Let me tell you…

YOU ARE WRONG.

I truly believe it is never too late to start towards anything. I went through five years of post-secondary before finally realizing what I truly wanted to do. I almost told myself after those five years that I should just suck it up and stick to what I started with.

Had I done that, I would be a miserable human being.

Don’t let time bog you down or discourage you.

Western society has this tendency to pressure citizens into this constant rush, like as if time will run out on us any instant. The reality of it is that time will always continue on. As long as that is a truth, then it is never too late to reach for that ultimate goal.

So to all of you out there already striving for your best, working towards what you enjoy and loving every minute of it — I say congratulations. Try to take a moment out of your day to inspire someone else to do the same in their life.

To those of you who for whatever reason are hesitant or scared to take that leap — I say jump. Look off into the distance, pick out that dream and hop off the paved pathway society has set out for you. Blazing your own new trail might be dark and frightening at times, but you will rise to the occasion. Before you know it you’ll be strolling along wondering to yourself, “Why didn’t I take this route earlier?”

copy@truomega.ca

Leave a Reply

